Texas Car and Booster Seat Laws and Safety Tips
Glen Larson Law Injury Attorneys Personal Injury Attorneys in Austin, Texas know that parents do everything they can to help ensure their kids are safe every day, including when they are passengers in their vehicles. While most parents believe their children are properly restrained while traveling in their vehicles, the Texas Department of Transportation reports that 46% of all children are not buckled up correctly.
This staggering statistic is a reminder that everyone with a child passenger needs to use the right car or booster seat and use it correctly.
What are the Car Seat Laws in Texas?
The best way to keep young children safe in any vehicle is to make sure they are properly buckled up in a car seat. That means selecting a car seat that is appropriate for a child’s age and size and installing it correctly.
Texas law requires that all children younger than eight years old, unless they are taller than 4 feet 9 inches, be secured in a child safety seat whenever they ride in a vehicle.
By age and size, the appropriate car seats include:
- Birth to Two Years Old
All infants and toddlers should ride in a rear-facing car seat until they are two years old, or until they reach the highest weight or height allowed by their safety seat’s manufacturer.
- Over Two Years Old
Any child two or older who has outgrown the rear-facing weight or height limit for a car seat, should use a forward-facing car seat with a harness for as long as possible, up to the highest weight or height allowed by their car seat’s manufacturer.
This also applies to any child younger than two years who has outgrown the rear-facing weight or height limit of their seat.
What are the Booster Seat Laws in Texas?
Children ages four to eight years old, whose weight or height exceeds the limit for a forward-facing car seat, should switch to a belt-positioning booster seat.
These children should remain in a booster seat until the vehicle seat belt fits properly, typically when they reach four feet and nine inches in height and are between eight and 12 years of age.
How Do I Know If My Car or Booster Seat is Installed Correctly in Texas?
The Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) offers free safety seat inspections throughout the year. To schedule a car seat check-up with a TxDOT Traffic Safety Specialist, visit SaveMeWithaSeat.org and enter your ZIP code to find the nearest TxDOT district office.
If you prefer, TxDOT offers virtual car seat checks to maintain the same level of service and education for families.
The Child Passenger Safety Technician will connect with the parent or caregiver using any electronic device with video and audio capabilities such as a cellphone, laptop, or tablet, and teach them how to properly install their car seat, one-on-one.
Properly installed car seats and booster seats, used correctly, can save lives.
Have You or Your Child Been Injured in an Accident Caused by a Negligent Driver in Texas?
Call our skilled car accident attorneys in Austin, Texas at (512) 699-1382 or contact us online today to schedule a free consultation. We pursue dedicated, driven results for our clients, and there is never a charge to talk to an attorney. We stand ready to help you.